Gently does it Mother

By: itakephotosofclouds

Aug 17 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Category: India, Places, Travel

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:4.6mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/400 sec
Camera:Canon DIGITAL IXUS 860 IS

Zoe and I had arisen before dawn and been driven by electric bus to the Taj Mahal.

Apparently before the Mumbai bombings approx. 45,000 – 50,000 people a day was quite normal, the day we were there they expected 4,000 – 5,000 at the most. I felt it was busy enough as it was.

The marble is translucent and light penetrates into it creating an amazing effect, I took many, many photos but I think my favourite was this one.

This group of elderly folk were very excited, it may have been their first time visiting and I had seen them in several locations taking photos and gazing at the monument. When I saw them about to head down from the upper deck, I quickly went across and caught this image as they carefully made their way back down to ground level.

Calm, serene, elegant and reverent are words that fit them.

Leave a Reply

